Meet GO’s Teacher Policy Fellows

Each year, GO selects a small group of Oakland public school teachers to lead, learn, and think about the future of education in our city. We believe that students will be better served if teachers have opportunities to influence education policy at the local level. The fellows are selected based on their application and interview. Applications are accepted in the spring and fellows are selected in June.

Current Fellows

  • Robbie Torney, Lighthouse Community Charter (Senior Fellow)
  • Lorin King, North Oakland Community Charter School (Senior Fellow)
  • Ruth Jones, Edna Brewer Middle School (Senior Fellow)
  • Kelley Leathers, Coliseum College Preparatory Academy
  • Rachel Amsterdam, Grant Elementary School
  • Tara Kaur Singh, Learning Without Limits
  • Hannah Lukanuski, Garfield Elementary School
  • Jennie Herriot-Hatfield, Think College Now (Senior Fellow)
  • Ben Nussbaum, Greenleaf Elementary School (Senior Fellow)
  • Alanna Baumert, Lighthouse Community Charter School
  • Mascharney Franklin, Oakland Unity Middle School
  • Edgar Rodriguez-Ramirez, REACH Academy
  • Johanna Rudnick, RISE Community School and New Highland Academy

Click here to read the bios of this year’s cohort of fellows.

Click here for a list of past Teacher Policy Fellows.


PRIVACY POLICY site design by twiststudio